top of page
  • Writer's pictureKraftyChloé

But We Want Fountain Pens!

I've been listening to the Pen Addict podcasts from oldest to newest lately (should have started sooner - I have over 500 to listen to!) and in one of them, episode four or five perhaps, Brad raised one of many excellent points.


Supermarket stationery sections are rarely updated.


It's the same in the UK too. Don't get me wrong, I love the stationery section, with its hpnotic rows of Sharpies, pencil cases, and pencils Even so, you might have noticed that in terms of ballpoints and fountain pens, it's not great. You always see the same Bics and Zebras, and as for fountain pens...


That's what I'm going to focus on here, as I wish that supermarkets would stock at least a few more fountain pens. Nothing fancy, maybe a a TWSBI or a Kaweco, just something beyond a budget Parker. I've heard that they are great, but I'd love just a little more variety.


If there were more fountain pens offered in stationery aisles, I think we'd see more people falling in love with them. Many won't actively seek out new writing instruments - the 'if it ain't broke, don't fix it' mindset i perfectly understandable - but if they are more commonly available then more pople might buy one on a whim annd fall in love.


Come on supermarkets. Join the stationery revolution!

82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page