top of page
  • Writer's pictureKraftyChloé

Review: Anderillium Inks Avian Series

It's an ink party this week!


This time, I'm trying out five inks from the Avian Series - Green Kingfisher Green, Indigo Bunting Blue, Purple Gallinule Purple, Pompadour Continga Burgundy, and Roseate Spoonbill Pink.





As you can see, more tiny bottles! In case you didn't read my Cephalopod Series review, these cute ink bottles will be available for you to purchase from Anderillium Inks soon.


I have swatched all these inks in my new designated swatchbook, a Tomoe River Everyday Book that you'll have seen me use a few times before. I was running out of Tools to Liveby paper! Also, I realised in the last review that I could only see the Anderillium Inks sheen on Tomoe River so it made sense to swatch in the Everyday Book.





Indigo Bunting Blue is a dark sky blue with good shading characteristics and what might be a reddish sheen. I can't see it very strongly, but I think it is there because my writing has a purplish hue that isn't there in my swatches. To confirm, I have swatched again with more ink, and yes, there's definitely sheen!





Purple Gallinule Purple is a lovely shade of lavender, no sheen but beautiful shading.


Pompadour Cotinga Burgundy is another sheening ink, a lovely dark pink colour edged with shiny green, which contrasts nicely and produces a very eye-catching effect.





Finally, we have Green Kingfisher Green and Roseate Spoonbill Pink, which despite being darker colours, still shade fantastically. Shading is typically see less in darker colours, so Anderillium Inks have done well with this ink.





Roseate Spoonbill Pink does have a slight gold sheen, but the ink must be applied quite heavily to see it. This also goes for Green Kingfisher Green, which has bronze sheen that I cannot photograph despite my best efforts! I've made an attempt to capture the gold sheen of the pink ink:





The overall consistency of the ink is good, it leans on the wet side but not so much that there are extortionate dry times, even on smooth paper.


I'm very happy with these inks and they are every bit as good as the Cephalopod Series. If I were to make any suggestions to Anderillium, it would be to perhaps make the sheen a bit more intense so it's more easily seen.


The Avian Series, just like the Cephalopod Series, is well worth adding to your collection!



Disclaimer: Anderillium Inks provided these inks for review purposes. All opinions expressed in this article are my own.

298 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page