top of page
  • Writer's pictureKraftyChloé

Review: Lamy Crystal Ink - Azurite

Next in the series of the Izumi Pens shimmer ink reviews is a particularly eye-catching ink, a beautiful combination of 'blurple' and green sheen.


I know, I say this about every ink, but I particularly like this gorgeous shade of... well, I'm not sure what it is! Too purple for blue, and too blue for purple, so I'm calling it blurple for the sake of ease. Either way, it is a very attractive colour, and sets off the green sheen well.





It is difficult to see the sheen in the writing same I wrote with a dip pen, though there is some sheen in real life. I wouldn't call it a 'sheen monster' like other inks I have used, but if you use a very wet, broad nib, your letters will be edged with a bright green sheen that really adds an element of fun.


The sheen wasn't visible in the ink swatch, but this often happens for some reason. I think the sheen either reacts with or is absorbed by the cotton bud, which means it doesn't show up in swatches. However, if you look at the ink splatter, you can clearly see the green sheen.





It is a well-behaved ink, a good balance between wet and dry. Beware that, as with all sheen inks, the full effect of the ink may not be seen on certain papers as more absorbent paper will simply absorb the sheen, rendering it invisible. Smooth paper such as that found in the Tools to Liveby calligraphy pad that I am using will work best, as the smooth texture shows off inks at their best. It also reduces feathering and bleeding - all the writing is crisp and clean.


Azurite shades well, producing a range of colours from a lighter purple to a darker one. Again, this would show better if I had used a broad nibbed pen, but I don't currently have an empty one on hand!





Dry time is about average, after fifteen seconds it doesn't smudge but this, of course, will vary from nib to nib.


Oveerall, it is a good, vibrant ink with an unusual - but very effective - colour combination, and it will definitely add a bit of pop to your writing!





DISCLAIMER: This sample was provided by Izumi Pens for review purposes. All opinions expressed in this article are my own.




188 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page