top of page
  • Writer's pictureKraftyChloé

Review: Newton Pens - Red and White Marble

Updated: Mar 12, 2022

First in the series of the 'Penstravaganza - Chapter Two' reviews is an analysis of a gorgeous red / dark pink fountain pen, from Newton Pens!


I should mention that I have never used such a chunky pen before. I thought that it would be uncomfortable for my small hands, but to my surprise, it isn't. In fact, all the large pens in my new extended collection are very nice to grip and are comfortable to write with, this one especially.




Before we test the functionality of the pen, let's talk about aesthetics.


My main complaint is that the colour makes me want raspberry sauce.




Food cravings aside, the barrel and cap are gorgeous. I believe they are made of acrylic (please correct me if I'm wrong, Mardi!) and the swirls of white are very attractive. There is a wonderful depth of colour, and if you look closely, you can see the converter inside.


When you pick up the pen, it feels well-made. If you are considering buying one of these but are afraid it might feel like a cheap plastic pen, it doesn't. While it is lightweight compared to a metal pen, which is inevitable, you can immediately tell it is good quality. The whole thing is sturdy and it gives off a general sense of good craftsmanship. The barrel is very smooth and widens in the middle, which lets it sit comfortably in the hand when writing.


The cap on this pen doesn't have a clip, which desn't bother me as I rarely use them anyway. It will post securely, but I usually leave the cap off when writing. If you prefer to post, the balance isn't thrown off at all when you do so.




When you unscrew the cap (which has nice smooth threads) a broad nib, delicately embossed with fine lines, is revealed. The breather hole is a simple circle, and 'NP', standing for Newton Pens, is engraved below. Further below that is a 'B' representing the broad nib size.


In order to access the converter, you must unscrew the barrel. Then you can see the bluRAFIA converter, a friction-fit one that simply pushes into the section.





I couldn't resist filling the pen with a matching ink, so I loaded it up with some Pilot Iroshizuku in Kosumosu. It is the same shade of red / pink, and really makes writing pop. It is also a good balance of wet and dry, which makes it easier to gauge what kind of writer a pen is.




The nib is broad, but I'd say it is a bit closer to a medium. I judge this by comparing it to the line width of a TWSBI pen, which in my opinion is one of the best medium nibs you can find.


There isn't much flex in the nib, but I like firm nibs as well as flex ones so that doesn't bother me at all. It feels very smooth when I write, and doesn't skip or scrape along the page. A lightweight body makes writing a breeze, banishing hand fatigue. You can post the cap securely without throwing off the overall balance, but I like to use it unposted.


I can't find anything to dislike about this pen! The chunkiness lets it sit in your hand comfortably, and doesn't feel like lead. The converter functions properly and doesn't leak. A carefully contoured section gives you a good grip, and the whole thing is designed to make writing with it a pleasant experience.


The only thing I could possibly find fault with would be how the pen rolls away if you place it on a surface, but honestly, that is just nitpicking. Any round, clipless pen would do exactly the same.


Sadly, even pens of the best quality aren't exempt from the laws of physics. Luckily, I have a pen rest that keeps it firmly in place!





Overall it is a splendid pen, ergonomic and attractive. It's as good, if not better, than any of my pens produced by larger brands!


290 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page