top of page
  • Writer's pictureKraftyChloé

Review: Pineider Black Ink

Have I got many inks already?

Yes.

Do I need more?

No.

But somehow a bottle of Pineider Black ended up on my doorstep and it had a buddy, its blue counterpart. Odd, indeed. In my defence, Pen Chalet did include it as a thank you gift for reviewing a Conklin Duragraph fountain pen for them, so the mysterious acquisition of more ink was Not My Fault!





It came in a nicely illustrated cream and black box made of card. When you open it, you will find a short, wide bottle inside, with a secure screw-on plastic lid. Be careful when you unscrew it, as there is no additional seal or plug inside!


I like how the bottle has a very low centre of gravity and wide base, preventing accidental spillages. The big neck makes filling even the largest of fountain pens a breeze!





The ink itself is, curiously, odourless. Inks usually smell of something, but this one doesn't. It doesn't really matter either way, but hey, I do pick things apart when I write about them!


The consistency of the ink is great. I'm yet to test it with anything other than my Conklin Duragraph, but it seem to be resistant to feathering and bleeding, without being too dry. It is the perfect balance between wet and dry and because of this, the writing doesn't remain damp for more than a few seconds. No annoying smudges here!


It is a pleasant change from Diamine ink, and while I will always be a loyal Diamine fan, this ink does actually perform just as well, which impresses me. I'll use a bottle of Pineider ink for reliable writing performance any day!

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page