top of page
  • Writer's pictureKraftyChloé

Review: Ti2 Design Techliner Grid- Blasted and Tumbled - Shorty 5.0"

Updated: Apr 22, 2022

Continuing my theme of ballpoint reviews, I bring you the Techliner!


This pen is a first for me in many ways - I hve never used a titanium pen, a Pilot G2 refill, or a magnetic cap before. I must admit that it is the magnetic cap that drew me too this company in the first place. You may already know that I am a big fan of interesting mechanisms and tactile features, The magnetic cap appealed to me, so I got in contact with Brendan of Ti2 Design.


Just under two weeks later, the pen completed its long journey from Hawaii and reached its new home in the UK.


It was packed in a small padded envelope, so if you only order one pen, it can be easily posted. No waiting for the postman! The pen itself is in a small plastic box.




I have to admit that I was a little disappointed - I'd like to see a pen worth $94 dollars packaged in a sturdier box, perhaps a padded cardboard one at least. If you throw away your packaging, cardboard is more biodegradeable, and padded boxes look better too. But realistically, is the pen going to be damaged in transit? Probably not. It was in a good padded envelope, and the plastic packaging is designed in such a way that it can only be opened on purpose. Also, the pen is made out of titanium. There are few materials hardier. I like decorative boxes, but in this case it isn't strictly necessary, just desirable.


The pen is lightweight, but not in a cheap, flimsy way. On the contrary, it feels like it could probably be run over by a car without sustaining any catastrophic damage. I squeezed the thinner metal of the cap with force that would have caused weaker metals to bend, but it remained utterly solid and didn't show anny signs of warping. Titanium was a also a good choice of clip material as it is springy and will not be deformed by use any time soon.





I couldn't wait to test out the cap, which is equipped with three rare earth magnets which are attracted to a bit of steel near the nib end (titanium isn't magnetic).


I cannot even begin to tell you how much I love this cap.


Even from a small distance away, the cap clips itself on to the nib end or top end with an immensely satisfying snapping sound. Want a cap that posts perfectly with minimum effort? Look no further. You've just found it. That cap is not coming off unless you want it to after it has snapped into place. You won't find a pen anywhere that posts better than this one.



After I had finished playing with the fascinating cap, I finally started to write. The grip is pleasant to hold, and though it is shorter than your averge pen at 5.0", it is comfortable in the hand. I do like short ballpoints because they are easier to keep in a pocket. This is a great length for a ballpoint pen and it can be carried to work, school, etc. with ease.


As for ink flow, the Pilot G2 refill couldn't be better. It produces a jet-black, consistent line, and I haven't experienced any skipping. The nib is smooth and the ink flow is reliable.





Another advantage of this design is that you can use a ruler, or any other tool such as a set square, because there isn't a nose cone to get in the way. You have over 6mm of clearance, and ample allowance for the thickness of any tool.




Disassembly is easy, but there are a few small parts so don't lose any! Turn the top of the pen anticlockwise to remove it. A magnet will fall out, along with a very thin doughnut-shaped piece of metal stuck to one end of it. Make sure you replace the magnet the right way round or it will repel the cap, and the doughnut metal always goes on the bottom of the magnet. Next, remove the clip (it will be loose and you can just pull it off). When you remove the Pilot G2 refill, a piece of black plastic and another bit of metal will fall out. During reassembly, slide the plastic over the refill first, then the metal, so the cap will snap into place when you put it back on.





You can remove the clip. Simply leave it off when you screw everything back togther, and you have a clipless pen! I always like removable pen clips.





Now you may be wondering why I kept the parts away from each other. That would be because of the magnets. Everything Wants To Stick To Everything Else. In fact, during disassembly, a magnet slammed into the barrel of the pen. 'Oh no!' I thought, 'It's going to be scratched now!' I removed the magnet sadly, expecting an ugly scuff.


But there wasn't one.


Yes folks, I do believe this is a scratch-proof pen. A small, dense magnet attaching itself to the barrel, from a distance and with considerable force, should have left a clear mark. Except it didn't. I could leave this pen in a bag or pocket with other metal items without becoming too concerned, because it would seem that titanium is indestructible.


One downside is that the magnets in the cap attract other things around the pen. For example, it stuck itself to a tin of Vaseline, and when I picked it up, the pen was still cheerfully clinging on to it. That could get annoying, but any cap with good-quality magnets in it would do the same thing. If you do intend to keep the pen amongst metal items, maybe keep it in a pen sleeve or just buy a different pen instead.


This is my first pen from Ti2 Design and based on the performance of this one, I wouldn't hesitate to buy another. I would prefer more aesthetically pleasing packaging, but the most important thing is that the product inside function well, which it does. It has a comfortable grip, convenient size, and perfect ink flow. The solid titanium coonstruction means you can carry the pen with you every day without fear of breaking it - if I were to climb a mountain, this is the pen I'd take with me. Overall, I'm more than happy with the build quality and expect it to work for many years to come!


UPDATE: Due to technology weirdness, I can't respond to comments right now. After some research, I have learnt that while credit cards/debit cards with a magnetic strip can be demagnetised, it has to be a very powerful magnet (as in, try to keep it away from an MRI scanner). Hotel cards can be demagnetised with much weaker magnets. I am not an expert, this is just from some articles I have been able to find online.


I'd say, don't worry too much. Many cards have a chip these days instead. Just remain aware that prolonged contact could maybe, possibly have some effect.


Disclaimer: This product was sent for the purposes of reviewing by Ti2 Design. All opinions expressed in this article are my own.







85 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page