top of page
  • Writer's pictureKraftyChloé

Review: Wingback Mechanical Pen - Brass

Updated: Apr 10, 2023

Supply chain issues, shortages of materials and miscellaneous courier mishaps have meant that I haven't been able to bring you any new product reviews lately, and a creativity drought made it entirely impossible for me to think of an interesting article to post.


However, a brilliant new product to test out can give my brain the much-needed kick it needs to glue words together, and upon receipt of a brass Wingback mechanical pen I found myself eager to begin writing again!


If you want a lightweight pen I suggest you look elsewhere - the almighty thud I heard when it was posted very quickly alerted me to its arrival. It was in a padded large letter bag, which I slit open. Inside, the pen nestled in a thick black fabric sleeve. 'No box?' I hear you cry out in horror, as you hide behind the sofa knowing how annoyed I get when a high-value pen isn't presented in a nice box.


But I don't mind.


Yes, that's right, I don't mind, because I'll use that sleeve more than I'd use a box. I love the thrill of opening a well-made case with a velvet interior to reveal a gorgeous pen inside, but I'm equally happy if it comes with a good protective sleeve.




I then slid the pen out. I'm not usually a fan of plain metal pens, and it is a (gasp) ballpoint, but I don't care. The combination of the short-but-not-too-short size and the sheer weight of the thing combine to create the perfect writing experience. Initially, I worried that the weight would fatigue my hand, but it actually reduces the pressure I have to apply in order to write. The lovely design of the pen also means that I don't mind it being made from 'plain' brass. The knurling and textured barrel make it pleasing to the eye, and there's no gap between the barrel and nose cone, because you insert refills in the opposite end.




Also, The Mechanism.


I'm a fidgeter. Sitting still is boring and I get distracted. By things, such as, say, a fascinating twisty mechanism. This one is smooth and solid - it isn't flimsy, and I expect it to last many years of use. It is also very quiet, no loud clicking.


The refill is a black Fisher Space Pen Co. PR4 made for Wingback, and I have to say, it is one nice writer. It produces a consistent black line and glides pleasantly across the page. No skipping even after writing three consecutive pages, and it also works in space and underwater.


Okay, so I haven't tested those claims for myself, and I don't have an astronaut handy to do it for me, but they are meant to work upside-down too. I'm not sure why you'd want to do that, but it's always nice to know I can scribble on the ceiling, I guess?


Wingback wisely decided against plastering their name all over the pen. They have ony engraved it once, in small capital letters near the knurled mechanism.


In case any of you are concerned that the small size may make the pen difficult to use, don't be. It fits both my small hands and the larger hands of my father comfortably, and it is wide enough to grip easily.


(Thanks for the picture, Dad!)





It wouldn't be an overstatement to say that this is the best ballpoint pen I have ever used. The build quality is admirable, and the knurled grip ensures your fingers don't slide down to the nose when you write. The size makes it easy to store in a pocket, yet it isn't so short as to be uncomfortable to use. It comes with a brilliant refill that is easily replaceable as you simply unscrew the top anticlockwise, take out the old refill, place the new one inside and screw the mechanism back on.


A budget pen it is not, but it's worth every single penny for the quality. If you are looking for a solid, reliable ballpoint pen, you can't get much better than this!



DISCLAIMER: This product was provided by Wingback for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed in this article are my own.



412 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page